EN

The  death metal  is an extreme sub-genre of heavy metal. It usually uses very distorted guitars,  tremolo picking , growlingprofonds,  blast beats , minor scales and complex structures with multiple tempo changes.

It was in early 1980 that the death metal emerged, first in the form of a thrash metal more complex and violent  2 . Metal bands such as Slayer 5 , Kreator 6 , Celtic Frost 7  and Venom have been very important influences for pioneers of genre 2 . Possessed 8  and Death 10 11  with groups like Obituary, Master, Atheist or Morbid Angel are often considered pioneers of the genre 12. In the 1980s and early 1990s, death metal gained more media attention thanks to popular labels like Combat, Earache and Roadrunner who began to sign death metal bands at a rapid pace 13 . Since then, death metal has diversified, producing a variety of subgenres 14 .

There are several versions as to the “real” origins   of death metal. Some cite the Possessed group as the first of its kind. This version is denied by others, who nevertheless believe that Possessed remains the first group of thrash / death metal with death metal sounds, and that it will influence the extreme metal groups to come. Mantas, Death Strike, Ravage, Genocide and Executioner (which will become Death, Master, Atheist, Repulsion and Obituary), which recorded several demos between 1983 and 1984, followed by Morbid Angel In 1983 but later recorded (the first demo dates from 1986) and Amon which is formed in 1987. The tape  Death Metal Of Possessed, released in 1984, will play an important role in the creation of this style (hence the origin of the name of this musical style), directly influencing Chuck Schuldiner, who changes the name of his group Mantas in Death, Other groups like Executioner.

The albums Leprosy by Death, Altars of Madness by Morbid Angel and Slowly We Rot by Obituary are considered the first albums that gave definitions to classic death metal. Major influential groups include: Cannibal Corpse, Death, Dismember, Deicide, Entombed, Gojira, Benediction, Morbid Angel, Obituary, Suffocation, and Vader.

The origin of the term  “death metal”  is relatively vague. There are several groups or individuals to whom the first use of the term is assigned. The band Mantas (future Death) releases a demo in 1984 called  Death by Metal 15 , the name of the group may also have inspired the name of the movement [ref. Required] . Also released in 1984, the demo of Possessed simply called  Death Metal . In the UK, the thrash metal band Onslaught had a song on their debut album entitled  Death Metal . Because of the repeated use of this term, a compilation released in 1984 called  Death Metal Groups such as Helloween or Hellhammer. Although it is agreed that the Death group has the paternity of death metal, we also note in the precursors of the genre two other formations: Morbid Angel and Possessed, both founded in 1983, and played a role as important as the Group of Chuck Schuldiner in the expansion of this kind.

FR

Le death metal est un sous-genre musical extrême du heavy metal. Il emploie généralement des guitares très distordues, des tremolo picking, des growlingprofonds, des blast beats, les gammes mineures et des structures complexes avec de multiples changements de tempo.

C’est au début des années 1980 que le death metal émerge, prenant tout d’abord la forme d’un thrash metal plus complexe et plus violent 2. Des groupes de metal tels que Slayer4,5, Kreator6, Celtic Frost7 et Venom ont été des influences très importantes pour les pionniers du genre2. Possessed8 et Death9,10,11 avec des groupes comme Obituary, Master, Atheist ou Morbid Angel sont souvent considérés comme des pionniers du genre12. Dans les années 1980 et début des années 1990, le death metal gagne plus l’attention des médias grâce aux labels populaires comme Combat, Earache et Roadrunner qui ont commencé à signer des groupes de death metal à un rythme rapide13. Depuis lors, le death metal s’est diversifié, engendrant une variété de sous-genres14.

Il existe plusieurs versions quant aux origines « réelles » du death metal. Certains citent le groupe Possessed comme étant le premier du genre. Cette version est démentie par d’autres, qui estiment néanmoins que Possessed reste le premier groupe de thrash/death metal avec des sonorités death metal, et qu’il influencera les groupes de metal extrême à venir. Les véritables pionniers de ce style selon les fans sont Mantas, Death Strike, Ravage, Genocide et Executioner (qui deviendront Death, Master, Atheist, Repulsion et Obituary) qui enregistrent plusieurs démos entre 1983 et 1984. S’ensuit Morbid Angel qui se forme en 1983 mais enregistre plus tardivement (la première demo date de 1986) et Amon qui lui se forme en 1987. La cassette Death Metal de Possessed, sortie en 1984, jouera un rôle important dans la création de ce style (d’où l’origine du nom de ce style musical), influençant directement Chuck Schuldiner, qui change le nom de son groupe Mantas en Death, et plusieurs autres groupes comme Executioner.

Les albums Leprosy de Death, Altars of Madness de Morbid Angel et Slowly We Rot de Obituary sont considérés comme les premiers albums qui ont donné les définitions au death metal classique. Les principaux groupes influents incluent : Cannibal Corpse, Death, Dismember, Deicide, Entombed, Gojira, Benediction, Morbid Angel, Obituary, Suffocation, et Vader.

L’origine du terme « death metal » est relativement floue. Il existe plusieurs groupes ou individus à qui la première utilisation du terme est attribuée. Le groupe Mantas (future Death) sort une démo en 1984 appelée Death by Metal15, le nom du groupe a peut-être aussi inspiré le nom du mouvement[réf. nécessaire]. Aussi sortie en 1984, la démo de Possessed simplement appelée Death Metal. Au Royaume-Uni, le groupe de thrash metal Onslaught avait une chanson sur leur premier album intitulée Death Metal. À cause de l’utilisation répétée de ce terme, une compilation sortie en 1984 appelée Death Metal regroupait des groupes comme Helloween ou Hellhammer. Bien qu’il soit convenu que le groupe Death a la paternité du death metal, on note aussi dans les précurseurs du genre deux autres formations : Morbid Angel et Possessed, tous deux fondés en 1983, et qui ont joué un rôle aussi important que le groupe de Chuck Schuldiner dans l’expansion de ce genre.