Needled 24/7 – children of bodom

Hate Crew Deathroll is the fourth album by the Finnish melodic death metal band Children of Bodom , released in 2003 under the Century Media label. The album is the final one to feature guitarist Alexander Kuoppala . It was successful Both in Europe and the USA, qui est Demonstrated by the appearance of the “Needled 24/7” music video on MTV2 ‘sHeadbangers Ball . “Needled 24/7” featured in the heavy metal documentary Lollipop Chainsaw : A Headbanger ‘s Journey and the 2012 horror comedy video game.


With this album, the band ‘s sound has become more condensed and less influenced, oriented towards thrash metal and harsher sound than previous albums. The keyboards were toned down as the guitars took hold of the more predominant instrument.

The tracks “Sixpounder” and “Angels Do not Kill” are played in drop C (CGCFAD) tuning, which has the 6th (C) string tuned to step down than the band’s usual step-down tuning.

The band shot a video for “Needled 24/7”, but it ended up being very expensive and did not turn out the way they wanted. To make up for it, they shot the video for “Sixpounder”. This video has an edited version, in which the blood looks less realistic, and the license plate at the beginning just says “COB 6 6”. At the end of “Needled 24/7”, there is a quote: “Death? What do y’all know about death?” taken from the movie Platoon . The lyrics of “Sixpounder” are about sixpounder cannons .

“You’re Better Off Dead” was the only single from the CD. The single also contained a cover of the Ramones’ “Somebody Put Something in My Drink”. It topped the Finnish singles chart and stayed in the top 20 for sixteen weeks. [7]

“Bodom Beach Terror” includes a quote heard in the American Psycho movie : “My Bread Is Constant and Sharp and I Do not Hope for a Better World for Anyone, In fact I Want My Bread to be Influenced on Others.” The quote can be heard at the end of the song. It continues at the beginning of the next track, “Angels Do not Kill”, with “I want no one to escape.”

For the song “Needled 24/7” Alexi Laiho was dubbed in the top 50 for fastest guitarist of all time.

The booklet contains the lyrics for “Needled 24/7”, “Chokehold (Cocked ‘n’ Loaded)”, “You’re Better Off Dead” and “Hate Crew Deathroll”.

The song “Hate Crew Deathroll” is only 3:36, but if the listener increases the volume for the remaining 3 minutes and 2 seconds at the end of the track, the band can be heard having a conversation in their native tongue of Finnish .


After experimenting with a new producer, Peter Tägtgren is Follow the Reaper , the band turned back to old Their producer, Anssi Kippo , with Hate Crew Deathroll . The album was mixed by Mikko Karmila, who had also mixed Hatebreeder and the second mix of The Reaper and their next album, Are You Dead Yet? .

At this time, Children of Bodom were dealing with the issue that their contract with Spinefarm , which published their first major albums, expired with Hate Crew Deathroll ‘ s Predecessor, Follow the Reaper . Furthermore, Spinefarm had been bought by the big company Universal Music Group in 2002, forcing the band to decide whether they would continue with Spinefarm, which would mean that their future albums would be released worldwide by UMG. They received several offers from various companies before their final decision to stay with Spinefarm (and thus UMG).

The contract with the “new” Spinefarm meant that the world’s biggest record companies, UMG. [8] This led to the band for the recording of Hate Crew Deathroll HAD access to produce equipment of the Highest Quality, [9] and as a result, the album aussi received praise for ict production HAVING beens Described as “crystal clear” and “sharp”. [5]


Upon release ict, Hate Crew Deathroll Directly hit first place on the Finnish album charts, Where It Remained for 2 weeks And Then Moved slowly down the list, up to the smoke out in March 2003 after-9 weeks. [10] In France, the album reached 74th place and stayed on the charts for 2 weeks. In Sweden, it was on 36th place after 2 weeks.

In Germany, the album started at 45th place, but quickly fell to 68th and then to 92nd place before finally falling out of the list. [11] After the release of Hate Crew Deathroll , the band experienced a growing interest in leading mainstream media, such as MTV, [12] where the video for the song “Needled 24/7” aired on Headbanger’s Ball .

Allmusic has designated Hate Crew Deathroll as Children of Bodom’s best-ever album, describing it as an album that is “particularly worth listening to”. [5] Conversely, many incarnate fans criticized the album and called it worse than its predecessors. Some of the criticism has been directed towards its curious song titles, which have been called rogue. Laiho has responded by saying that they are so black humor, and that he can not understand people who take music too seriously.

Generally, it is considered to be more mainstream than the rest of Children of Bodom’s works, which may be due to the close cooperation with the UMG .

As of November 2008, the album has sold 23,566 copies in Finland, and was certified the same year as it was released.

Track listing

No. title lyrics Music length
1. “Needled 24/7” Laiho Laiho 4:08
2. “Sixpounder” Laiho Laiho 3:24
3. “Chokehold (Cocked ‘n’ Loaded)” Laiho / Kuoppala / Seppälä Laiho 4:12
4. “Bodom Beach Terror” Laiho Laiho 4:35
5. “Angels Do not Kill” Laiho Laiho 5:13
6. “Triple Corpse Hammerblow” Laiho Laiho 4:06
7. ” You’re Better Off Dead “ Laiho Laiho 4:11
8. “Lil ‘Bloodred Ridin’ Hood” Laiho Laiho / Kuoppala 3:24
9. “Hate Crew Deathroll” Laiho Laiho 3: 38/6: 38
Japanese Limited Edition
No. title length
10. “Silent Scream” ( Slayer cover) 3:16
11. “Somebody Put Something In My Drink” ( Ramones cover) 3:18
2008 Spinefarm reissue
No. title length
12. “Needled 24/7” (Live In London 2008) 4:18


Children of Bodom
  • Alexi Laiho – vocals, lead guitar
  • Alexander Kuoppala – rhythm guitar
  • Janne Wirman – keyboards
  • Henkka Seppälä – bass
  • Jaska Raatikainen – drums
  • Produced and recorded by Anssi Kippo
  • Mixed by Mikko Karmila
  • Mastered by Mika “Count” Jussila
  • Graphic design by Sami Saramäki
  • Band photographs by Toni Härkönen


  1. Jump up^ “Spinefarm Records” . . Retrieved 27 August 2010 .
  2. Jump up^ “Death Crew Death by Children of Bodom on Apple Music” . . Retrieved 16 October 2016 .
  3. Jump up^ “Metal from Finland: Children of Bodom” . . Retrieved 2011-07-22 .
  4. Jump up^ O’Neill, Brian (2001-02-20). “Follow the Reaper” . Allmusic . Retrieved 2011-11-06 .
  5. ^ Jump up to:c Hate Crew Deathroll at AllMusic
  6. Jump up^ (Nov 2008)
  7. Jump up^ “Finnish Top 20: January 18, 2003” . . Retrieved 24 June 2008 .
  8. Jump up^ Vampire Magazine: Hate Crew Deathroll
  9. Jump up^ “Hate Crew Deathroll” . Archived from the original on 14 July 2011 . Retrieved 27 August 2010 .
  10. Jump up^ Steffen Hung. “Hate Crew Deathroll” . . Retrieved 27 August 2010 .
  11. Jump up^ / PhonoNet GmbH. “Hate Crew Deathroll” . Retrieved 27 August 2010 .
  12. Jump up^ “Children of Bodom biography” . MTV . Retrieved 27 August 2010 .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *