Suffer the Children

Harmony Corruption is the third album by Napalm Death, released in 1990 on Earache Records.

The style of the album was more death metal than grindcore, featuring extremely heavy riffs and deep low vocals.

The album was recorded at Morrisound Recording in Tampa, Florida, where since many classic Death Metal albums have been recorded. Florida Death Metallers Glen Benton from Deicide and John Tardy from Obituary were guest vocalists for the song “Unfit Earth”.

The tracks from the Mentally Murdered EP,[2] are included at the end of early editions of the CD, though versions now in print feature only the standard eleven tracks.

It is the first Napalm Death album to feature Mark “Barney” Greenway as the vocalist and Americans Mitch Harris and Jesse Pintado as guitarists, and the last with Mick Harris on drums.

Richard Johnson, a member of Agoraphobic Nosebleed, says that the wide distribution of Harmony Corruption ensured that it had a greater impact on the American grindcore scene than earlier Napalm Death efforts.[3]

Their third UK chart entry, this album peaked at number 67. Limited vinyl pressing included the bonus LP with live set recorded at I.C.A.

In 2012, Earache Records released remastered edition, containing bonus tracks.

The track “Suffer the Children” was released as single on vinyl and CD, which features the non-album tracks “Siege of Power” and “Harmony Corruption”.[4]

Track listing

No. Title Lyrics Music Length
1. “Vision Conquest” Shane Embury Embury 2:42
2. “If the Truth Be Known” Embury, Mark Greenway Embury 4:12
3. “Inner Incineration” Embury Jesse Pintado 2:57
4. “Malicious Intent” Embury Embury 3:26
5. “Unfit Earth” Greenway Mick Harris 5:03
6. “Circle of Hypocrisy” Greenway Mick Harris 3:15
7. “The Chains that Bind Us” Embury, Greenway Mick Harris 4:08
8. “Mind Snare” Greenway Mitch Harris 3:42
9. “Extremity Retained” Greenway Mick Harris 2:01
10. “Suffer the Children” Greenway Mick Harris 4:21
CD bonus track
No. Title Lyrics Music Length
11. “Hiding Behind” Greenway Mick Harris 5:15
[show]Live at the I.C.A. London 29 June 1990


Napalm Death

  • Mark “Barney” Greenway – vocals, lyrics (2, 5-11)
  • Jesse Pintado – guitar, music (3)
  • Mitch Harris – guitar, music (8)
  • Shane Embury – bass, songwriting (1, 2 & 4), lyrics (3 & 7)
  • Mick Harris – drums, music (5-7 & 9-11)

Backing vocals (5)

  • Glen Benton
  • John Tardy

Technical personnel

  • David Windmill – artwork
  • Tim Hubbard – photography
  • Noel Summerville – mastering

Chart positions

Chart (1990) Peak position
UK Albums (OCC)[5] 67


  1. Jump up^ Birchmeier, Jason. Napalm Death: Harmony Corruption > Overview at AllMusic. Retrieved 19 October 2014.
  2. Jump up^
  3. Jump up^ Kevin Stewart-Panko, “Altered States,” “Grindcore Special” part 2, Terrorizer #181, March 2009, p. 42-43.
  4. Jump up^ “Napalm Death ‘Suffer the Children'”. Earache. Retrieved 1 December 2014.
  5. Jump up^ “Napalm Death | Artist | Official Charts”. UK Albums Chart Retrieved 11 October 2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *