Take This Life

Come Clarity is the eighth studio album by the Swedish metal band In Flames . The album was released on February 3, 2006 in Europe through Nuclear Blast Records and February 7 in the US through Ferret Records . It was the band’s last album to contain melodic death metal elements.

This Album Was Originally Entitled Crawl Through Knives goal Was changed to icts current title and the track Itself is listed Incorrectly On Some programs have “Crawling Through Knives” along with others Such As “Reflect the Storm” as “Reflect the End” and ” Versus Terminus “as” End of All Things “. quote needed ]

This album features the artwork of Derek Hess , who is popular among metal bands and has produced artwork for Converge and Sepultura among others. Specifically with Sepultura, their album Roorback ‘ s artwork has a similarity.

The song “Take This Life” is featured in Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock and Music videos were produced for this song along with “Come Clarity”.

The drums, vocals, keys and programming were recorded at “Dug Out Studio” and Guitars and Bass were recorded at “The Room”. This album was mixed and mastered at “Tonteknik Recording”.


Stylistically this harkens back to the band roots heavier with elements of the alternative style still present. The band had claimed the sound would be “a bit of the old and a bit of the new”.

Come Clarity features the return of the guitar harmonies and the solos to the band, and can be described as a combination of their older melodic death metal sound with their newer alternative sound.

The song “Dead End” is the fourth In Flames song to feature female vocals (the others are “Everlost, Pt. 2” from Lunar Strain , “Whoracle” from Whoracle and “Metaphor” from Reroute to Remain .)

Sales and awards

The album debuted at number 1 in Sweden [5] and number 58 on the United States Billboard 200 ; in the latter country, selling almost 25,000 copies in its first week, and 50,000 in its first month. Since its release, the album has sold more than 110,000 copies in the United States. The album has also sold over 400,000 copies worldwide.

The album won the award for Best Hard Rock Album in the 2007 Grammis (Swedish Grammy Awards) Nominated albums over Such Such As The Haunted ‘s The Dead Eye and HammerFall ‘s Threshold . [6]

Come Clarity was named Best Swedish album of the Past Decade by readers of the Swedish newspaper Aftonbladet . [7]

Track listing

All tracks written by Fridén Anders , Björn Gelotte , and Jesper Strömblad .

No. title length
1. “Take This Life” 3:35
2. “Leeches” 2:55
3. “Reflect the Storm” 4:16
4. “Dead End” 3:22
5. “Scream” 3:12
6. ” Come Clarity “ 4:15
7. “Vacuum” 3:39
8. “Pacing Death’s Trail” 3:00
9. “Crawl Through Knives” 4:02
10. “Versus Terminus” 3:18
11. “Our Infinite Struggle” 3:46
12. “Vanishing Light” 3:14
13. “Your Bedtime Story Is Scaring Everyone” 5:25
Total length: 48:06


In Flames

  • Anders Fridén – vocals
  • Björn Gelotte – guitar
  • Jesper Strömblad – guitar
  • Peter Iwers – bass
  • Daniel Svensson – drums

Other Personnel

Additional Musicians
  • Örjan Örnkloo – keyboards and programming
  • Uppsala Poker HC Crew – additional vocals on “Scream”
  • Lisa Miskovsky – additional vocals on “Dead End”
  • Eskil Lövstrom – mixing
  • Henricsson excavator – mixing & mastering
  • Magnus Lander- tracking
Additional Staff
  • Patric Ullaeus – photography
  • Derek Hess – artwork

Release history

This album was intended for release in the summer or early fall of 2005 but did not occur. The album did not go out of the box for the first time. The album was released on 2 discs (with tracks 1-7 being disc 1 and the remainder as disc 2), a film pictures on a foil and a DVD. The DVD, features the band playing the album in its entirety, except for the final track of the album. However, the audio is not actually live as it’s simply played back on the video. The DVD also features a photo gallery of the recording sessions of Come Clarity . This is the only Flames studio album.

Region Dated Format Catalog Label
germany 2006 CD, Album NB 1309-2 Nuclear Blast
germany 2006 Limited Box, 3xCD + DVD NB 1643-2, NB 1644-2, NB 1645-2, NB 1637-5 Nuclear Blast
United States February 7, 2006 CD, Album F062 Ferret Music
Ukraine 2006 CD, Album MR 1848-2 Moon Records
russia 2006 CD, Album IROND CD 06-1121 Irond
russia 2006 CD, Album, Dig + DVD IROND CD 06-1121 DL Irond
US 2006 CD, Album, Dig + DVD F962 Ferret Music
germany 2006 CD, Album, Dig + DVD-V, Dig NB 1309-0, NB 1637-5 Nuclear Blast
US 2006 CD, Album, Promo F062-2ADV Ferret Music
germany 2006 CD, Album, Promo NB 1613-2 Nuclear Blast
germany 2006 LP, Album, Cle NB 1309-1, 27361 13091 Nuclear Blast
germany 2010 CD, Album, RE FSR 007 FS Records (2), Tonpool


  1. Jump up^ http://www.allmusic.com/album/come-clarity-mw0000525780
  2. Jump up^ http://drownedinsound.com/releases/7122/reviews/639641
  3. Jump up^ http://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/4167-come-clarity/
  4. Jump up^ http://www.popmatters.com/review/in_flames_come_clarity/
  5. Jump up^ “In Flames Chart Positions” . Swedish Charts . 2006 . Retrieved 2007-02-11 .
  6. Jump up^ “Come Clarity Winning Best Hardrock Award at 2007 Grammis.” . Grammis . 2007 . Retrieved 2007-02-26 .
  7. Jump up^ “In Flames & Bossen bäst” . Aftonbladet . 2009 . Retrieved 2009-12-29 .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *